Skip Navigation Links
Continuing Education
EMS Personnel Training Programs
General Public Training
Public Safety
About Training Data

In an effort to provide the public with the information necessary to select a training provider the EMS Authority has recently expanded the information that is being provided regarding training. That includes some new data elements that may not yet be fully populated. The information is being provided by the Local EMS Agencies (LEMSAs). It may take them some time to fully populate this new data. Thank you for your patience.

Data Element Value Description
Eligibility Accredited College  or University The entitiy is eligible to be a training provider because it is an accredited college or university including junior and community colleges
  Acute Care Hospital The entitiy is eligible to be a training provider because it is an acute care hospital
  Governmental Agency The entitiy is eligible to be a training provider because it is a governmental agency
  Local EMS Agency The entitiy is eligible to be a training provider because it is a local EMS Agency
  Military Medical Unit The entitiy is eligible to be a training provider because it is a military medical unit
  Private PostSecondary Approval The entitiy is eligible to be a training provider because it is approved through the Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education
Accreditation Status Accredited The entity is accredited
  Denied Accreditation was denied
  Not Applicable Accreditation is not required for this type of training provider
  Pending The entity is in the accreditation process.
  Probation The entity was accredited but is in a probationary status.
  Revoked Accreditation for this entity has been revoked.
Program Status Active The program is providing training
  Closed The training program has closed and is no longer providing training.
  Discontinued The program has been discontinured.
  Expired The program no longer is approved to provide training
  Merged The program merged with another and is no longer providing training under this name.
  Probation The program is on probation but may provide training
  Renewing The program is renewing their certification to provide training
  Revoked The program is no longer providing training.
  Suspended The program has been suspended and during the suspension period may not provide training.
Training Type AEMT Advanced Emergency Medical Technician
  EMT-Basic & Refresher Approved for both EMT Basic and EMT refresher courses
  EMT-Refresher Only Approved for EMT refresher courses only
  MICN Approved for Mobile Intensive Care Nurse training
  Paramedic Approvied for Paramedic Training

In California providing Emergency Medical Services including the approval of local EMS training programs is the responsibility of the county. Some counties have chosen to form multi-county organizations to provide EMS oversight. The following is a list by county of the Local EMS Agencies (LEMSAs). The EMS Authority is shown as a LEMSA because it is responsible to approve state agencies as training providers.

County LEMSA Name
Alameda Alameda
Alpine Mountain Valley
Amador Mountain Valley
Butte Sierra-Sacramento Valley
Calaveras Mountain Valley
Colusa Sierra-Sacramento Valley
Contra Costa Contra Costa
Del Norte North Coast
El Dorado El Dorado
Fresno Central California
Glenn Northern California
Humboldt North Coast
Imperial Imperial
Inyo Inland Counties
Kern Kern
Kings Central California
Lake North Coast
Lassen Northern California
Los Angeles Los Angeles
Madera Central California
Marin Marin
Mariposa Mountain Valley
Mendocino Coastal Valleys
Merced Merced
Modoc Northern California
Mono Inland Counties
Monterey Monterey
Napa Napa
Nevada Sierra-Sacramento Valley
Orange Orange
Placer Sierra-Sacramento Valley
Plumas Northern California
Riverside Riverside
Sacramento Sacramento
San Benito San Benito
San Bernardino Inland Counties
San Diego San Diego
San Francisco San Francisco
San Joaquin San Joaquin
San Luis Obispo San Luis Obispo
San Mateo San Mateo
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara
Santa Clara Santa Clara
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz
Shasta Sierra-Sacramento Valley
Sierra Northern California
Siskiyou Sierra-Sacramento Valley
Solano Solano
Sonoma Coastal Valleys
Stanislaus Mountain Valley
Sutter Sierra-Sacramento Valley
Tehama Sierra-Sacramento Valley
Trinity Northern California
Tulare Central California
Tuolumne Tuolumne
Ventura Ventura
Yolo Sierra-Sacramento Valley
Yuba Sierra-Sacramento Valley
Statewide EMS Authority